Skip to content

Leningrad Union of Soviet Artists (LOSSKh)

Ленинградское отделение союза советских художников (ЛОССХ)

During the early 1930s, painters were organized into branches of the larger Union of Soviet Artists. The Union of Artists of Leningrad was established in 1932 as a creative and artistic union composed of artists and art critics. The painter Kuzma Petrov-Vodkin (1878-1939) was elected its first chairman. The union also had an experimental lithographic workshop. In 1991, the Leningrad branch became the Saint Petersburg Union of Artists. The Moscow branch (formed in June 1932) was called MOSSKh and was also one of the first major artist unions to be established in the Soviet era. The Moscow branch was renamed MSSKh in 1938 and again renamed (MOSKh) in 1957 during a re-organization.

Sources & Citations

Swanson, V. G. (1994). Hidden treasures: Russian and Soviet impressionism; 1930-1970s. Scottsdale, Ariz. (exhibit catalogue)
Howard, J. (1992). The Union of Youth: A society of artists in St. Petersburg, 1910-14. Manchester: Manchester University Press. (experimental lithographic workshop)