Skip to content



Mikhail Kupriianov (1903–1991), Porfirii Krylov (1902–1990), Nikolai Sokolov (1903–2000)

The Kukryniksy was an artistic collective formed by three cartoonists. The name of the collective was derived from the combined surnames of each member; Mikhail Kupriianov, Porfirii Krylov, and Nikolai Sokolov. The satirical Illustrations of the Kukryniksy were widely published in Soviet newspapers and magazines starting in the 1930s. Between the summer of 1941 and the spring of 1945, the three artists were an integral part of the TASS Windows studio in Moscow, designing at least seventy-four posters for the studio during the war. In the post-war era, the Kukryniksy illustrated books and collaborated on paintings. For their work they were awarded the Stalin Prize five times (1942, 1947, 1949, 1950, and 1951), the Lenin Prize (1965), and the State Prize of the USSR (1975).


Zegers, P., et al. (2011). Windows on the war: Soviet TASS posters at home and abroad, 1941-1945. Chicago: Art Institute of Chicago. (bio)
Bonnell, V. E. (1999). Iconography of power: Soviet political posters under Lenin and Stalin. Berkeley: University of California Press. (p. 209)
Bown, M. C. (1991). Art under Stalin. Oxford: Holmes & Meier. (bio)
Kamenskii, A.A. (1973). Kukryniksy politicheskaia satira 1929-1946 Moskva: Sovetskii khudozhnik. (a book about their lives and careers)
Baburina, N. I. (1988). The Soviet Political Poster, 1917-1980. New York: Penguin. (bio, artist)